International legislation

The Vienna Convention for the Protection of the Ozone Layer has been adopted on March 22nd, 1985, as a consequence of the increased concern of the countries of all regions of the world for the urgent need to undertake efficient measures for protection of the ozone layer. The objective of the Vienna Convention is to contribute to the protection of human health and the environment from the effects of ozone depletion by controlling the production and consumption of ozone depleting substances (ODSs) and phasing them out. With the adoption of this Convention, the first steps have been made in establishing of the cooperation of parties of the Convention, for the purpose of the ozone layer protection.

Taking into account that the Convention defines the problem, but not the ways of reaching the objective, Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer was adopted on September 16th, 1987.
The Protocol is an instrument which is used to oblige member countries to decrease the emissions of harmful substances and ban the production of these substances.  In order to make the process more effective the member countries have adopted four amendments to the Montreal Protocol: London (1990); Copenhagen (1992); Montreal (1997) and Bejing (1999), which extended the list of controlled substances as well as shortened the deadlines for stopping production processes and use of substances that deplete the ozone layer.

Montreal Protocol and its four amendments contain a comprehensive schedule for phasing out the production and consumption of ODSs, as well as control measures for the manufacturing, export, and import of ODSs. The Protocol encompasses 96 different chemicals, divided in four annexes, which are known to deplete ozone layer. The Protocol takes into account special circumstances of developing countries and allows them a ten year grace period to fully implement the control measures.

Until this day Montreal protocol has 191 member parties.